Search This Blog

Tuesday, December 15, 2009



The following have made the shortlist for the various categories of the 2009 Abuja Writers Forum (AWF)Literary Contest. Winners will be announced on December 19, 2009 at the 2nd Abuja Literary Festival.

Exclusively for writers resident in Nigeria’s Federal Capital Territory (FCT) – that is Abuja and the Council Areas of Abaji, Bwari, Gwagwalada, Kuje and Kwali

A. Short Story
“Chapters From Dante” - Abdulnasir Imam, “Someone Should Know” – Azih Ifeoma, “Heart of Steel” –Abundance Jona-Effiong , “Rites of Passage” - Mike Ekunno, “On the Hot Seat” – Sylva Nze Ifedigbo

B. Poetry
“To My Left Hand” – Owojecho Omoha , “Us” – Ozioma Izuora , “Cosmic Romance” – Paul Allen Oche , “Fashion Statements” – Aniete James Okuku, “The Hymeneal Night” – Tyessi Kuni, “Who Is To Blame?” – Omene Omena

C. Drama
“Green Bus” – Oluchi Agbanyim, “Pride of the Potter’s Vessel” – Obilor Jonathan Chinedu, “The Family Meeting” – Ozioma Izuora, “Choices” – Edeimu Daniel Omoghene

This section is in two-parts and is open to Nigerian creative writers and scholars regardless of where they are domiciled.

Part 1– Creative Writing

A. Cyprian Ekwensi Prize for Short Stories endowed by Emzor Pharmaceuticals.(Manuscripts and published works.)
“Fires” – Bolaji Odofin, “The Length of Light” – Unoma Azah, “Houdini and other Marvels” –Rotimi Babatunde, “A Fistful of Tales” – Ayodele Arigbabu

B. T. M. Aluko Prize for a first book of Fiction.(Published works only.)
“Personal Angle” – Fatima Alkali, “The Abyssinian Boy” – Onyeka Nwelue
Only two entries considered worth the prize.

C. Ibrahim Tahir Prize for Fiction. (Manuscripts and published works.)
“Houdini and Other Marvels “- Rotimi Bamidele, “A Fistful of Bones “ - Ayodele Arigbabu, “Edible Bones” - Unoma Azuah, “Personal Angle” - Fatima Alkali, “A Question of Marriage” -Auwalu Hamza, “The Abyssinian Boy “- Onyeka Nwelue

D. Mamman Vatsa Prize for Poetry in Pidgin English sponsored by the Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC). (Manuscripts and published works.)
Only one entry worthy of honourable mention

E. Carlos Idzia Ahmad Prize for a first book of Poetry. (Published works only.)
Only one entry adjudged to be worth considering for the prize.

F. Anthony Agbo Prize for Poetry endowed by Senator Anthony Agbo.(Manuscripts and published works.)
Shortlist for this category will soon be made available.

G. Zulu Sofola Prize for Drama. (Manuscripts and published works.)
“Sleep Na Wahala” – Africa-Zahemen Osondu Ukoh, “Eagle-Eye” - Oluchi Agbanyim, “Pandemonium” – Ayo Adewumi, “Devil is a Young Lady” – Elvis Ogenyi, “Blood For Palmwine” – Ozioma Izuora, “Requiem” – Isaac Ogezi

Part 2 – Critical Writing

A. Ime Ikiddeh Prize for Literary Criticism in Fiction, endowed by the Akwa Ibom State Government
“Do You think I am Mad? Between Consciousness, Madness and Creativity in African Literature” – Owojecho Omoha, “Infraction and Change in the Nigerian Feminist Novel: Zaynab Alkali and Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo” – Sule E. Egya
Only two entries adjudged to be well written.

B. Donatus Nwoga Prize for Literary Criticism in Poetry.
“Dimensions of Productivity in the Poetry of Chinua Achebe” -Ikeogu Oke , “In this Land We Love with Pain: A Reading of Toyin Adewale’s Poetry” – Sule E. Egya, “The Ecopoetics of Ezra Pound and Christopher Okigbo” - Obiwu

C. Oyin Ogunba Prize for Literary Criticsm in Drama sponsored by Alhaji Ibrahim Nasir Arab, Clerk to the National Assembly.
No entry deemed worth the prize.

D. Sunday Anozie Prize for Literary Theory (including literary history , criticism of non-fiction, and criticism of criticism/theory).
No entry deemed worth the prize.

Professor Barth Oshonebo, Dr Dan Omatsola, Professor Kanchana Ugbabe, Dr Dul Johnson, Toyin Adewale-Gabriel, Aracelli Aipoh, Crispin Odobuobok-Mfon Abasi, Chris Otaigbe, Dr Cecilia Kato, Dr Gboyega Kolawole and Professor Maureen Ngozi Eke

Meanwhile the deadline for the International Category of the Contest (Section 111), is December 31,2009. Winners will be announced on the AWF website by the last week of March 2010. Contact:

:::: Copyright © 2009. Abuja Writers' Forum ::::

No comments:

Post a Comment